Sunday Funday #1 – Vainglory

Vainglory – Super Evil Megacorp – appstore.com/vainglory

My first Sunday Funday! It’s still Sunday somewhere…

This wasn’t the best start to something I want to make happen every week, but hey, it means there’s nowhere to go but up from here. And let me tell you, that’s true in every aspect. I’ve done work as a video editor before, and it makes me cringe both inside and outside to know that I barely watched this video before I exported and uploaded. My computer just wasn’t agreeing with me and… it’s just a long story, okay? One I’m not in the mood to get into. It’s behind me. It’s staying there.

So! Vainglory! This is by far my favorite game at the moment! And for those of you who might thinking this, I didn’t do this video because they asked, or because I’m getting anything out of it other than pure joy. I love playing the game. It would be an honor I don’t expect to ever get from the game developers (or devs) to be asked to make a video for them.

Speaking of the game devs (who for this game are really nice, btw), I actually ran into one today. I played and recorded seven games today, and in the second game, I ran into Noxii, who you can tell is a dev in the video above by her deep red name. It’s really cool that they actually appear in the game randomly and play with everyone. That’s something I love about them; they’re not only making a great game, but they’re making a great game that they love playing.

Vainglory is the first MOBA (Multiplayer Online Battle Arena for people not so familiar with the lingo), that I played and actually liked playing. So many out there are so complicated and hard to get into that I feel like you have to be determined to play, or your brain just has to work that way, which mine doesn’t exactly. Well it didn’t. I’m fairly certain I could pave my way through some of the other MOBA’s out there. I actually downloaded the beta for Heroes of the Storm the other day, though I haven’t gotten much of a chance to give it a try. I’ve also tried DOTA, though I’m still working my way through the training to get used to the controls.

I’m certainly not the best player ever, and I doubt I ever will be, but the game is too much fun for me to even care about that. And it has a great community on Twitch.tv. I spend more time than I probably should on twitch watching and playing with the streamers for the game. I would stream myself if I thought my computer could handle it. I still may give it a try one of these days.

I’m pretty certain that I’d made a list of things in my head to talk about with this game, but that was hours beyond hours ago, and I’m about to pass out. I’m actually having a hard time figuring out how I wrote as much as I have. If anyone has any questions about the game, feel free to ask me. I know a lot about the meta, the characters, and the actual gameplay of the game (mostly from watching and playing with people on twitch! It’s a great place to find other people to play with!)

My IGN is Hissaelil. Please feel free to add me and we can play sometime! (I mostly play Joule and Celeste (she’s by far my favorite new character to have come out), though for the video today I wish I would have played a few others for some variety.) I am on the NA server, though, so if you’re anywhere outside NA, we can’t play right now because I don’t have an account set up for anywhere else. Also, I don’t accept guests as friends, so take a second to name your account before you add me (I’m always shocked about the amount of guests I see in the game…).

Published by

Brittney

Artist. Writer. Filmmaker. Bibliophile. Photographer. Herbivore. Not necessarily in that order. Actually, yeah, that order.

One thought on “Sunday Funday #1 – Vainglory”

Join the conversation.

